Uninsured Driving Laws Delaware
Delaware takes all of its traffic penalties seriously, and if you are pulled over and found to be driving without insurance you’ll be given a ticket and face severe penalties that will usually include a fine as well as the possible loss of your driver’s license. To prevent the loss of your driving privileges, and increased auto insurance premiums, contact our Delaware traffic ticket lawyers today for a free consult.
Most states today have auto insurance laws b it’s why the commercials on TV constantly talk about ‘minimum coverage’. That minimum coverage is defined as the minimum amount of car insurance you are required to have by law. In the case of Delaware, you must care liability insurance on your vehicle at all times. This type of insurance protects others from accidents caused by you. It will pay for repairs to their auto or property and will even cover their medical expenses. What it won’t do is pay for any damage done to your car, your property, or your body. Below are the standard minimums that you must have in liability auto insurance in order to drive legally in the state of Delaware.
Delaware Coverage Minimums
- $10,000 coverage to pay for any property damage you may cause
- $15,000 for bodily injuries caused in an accident, per person
- $30,000 for all bodily injuries to all other people involved in an accident
Usually, the cost of a minimum coverage auto insurance policy isn’t that substantial. However, the costs of having a car accident without insurance can be incredibly high. Usually, you’ll face a number of things including:
- You will be required to pay for property and bodily injury out of pocket. This can be tens of thousands of dollars.
- You will also pay a fine. The first offense of driving without insurance is $1,500, and subsequent offenses will be $3,000.
- You could lose your driver’s license for a set period of time.
Note that just being pulled over and found breaking Delaware uninsured driving laws will bring with it the same fines that having an accident without insurance would b between $1,500 and $3,000 in fines as well as other potential penalties.
Options Once Caught
Usually you’ll have two options if you’re given a ticket for driving without insurance. The first is simply to pay the ticket and the fines. This will often involve doing so either by mail or in person. Usually you’ll have to reinstate your license and registration and prove that you have insurance before you’ll be driving legally again.
The other option is to actually plead not guilty and go to court to fight for your innocence. Driving without insurance is one of the most difficult traffic violations to contest, largely due to the fact that documentation will easily prove whether or not you are insured. Still, some circumstances could lead to your contesting the case. If they do, you will need to fully understand the law or hire an attorney to represent you since the complexities of traffic law and a driving without insurance defense are very difficult to comprehend for the average person.
The best way to avoid this problem is simply to ensure that your insurance is always up to date and that you’re within the confines of the law.
Uninsured Driving Charges
If you have been charged with driving without insurance, or failure to show proof of insurance is in your best interest to consult with a Rehoboth Beach Delaware Traffic Ticket Lawyer right away. Call The Law Office of John R. Garey at (302) 744-9290. Or, email Mr. Garey by clicking here. Mr. Garey has over 15 years experience handling traffic violations in Delaware.
Driving without Insurance Penalties in Delaware
Again, since driving without insurance is a criminal offense in Delaware there are a number of penalties associated once convicted.B For a first time offense, the conviction carries a fine ranging from $1500.00 (minimum) to $2,000.00 maximum. In addition, the personb s driving license and/or privileges will be suspended for a 6 month period.B A subsequent offense occurring within 3 years of a former offense carries a minimum fine of $3,000 and a maximum of $4,000.00.B Also, the personb s driving license and/or privileges will again be suspended for 6 months.
Contact a Defense Attorney
Being charged with driving without insurance can cause you a considerable amount of aggravation on many levels such as financial, legal and professional. If your license is suspended your ability to remain employed may be impacted. It may make sense to call a skilled Delaware Traffic Ticket Lawyer to help protect your rights and driving privileges. Contact The Law Office of John R. Garey at (302) 744-9290.
Our Delaware criminal defense lawyersB and DE traffic crime attorneys serve all of Delaware including Wilmington, Newark, University of Delaware, Pike Creek, Hockessin, New Castle, Bear, Glasgow, Middletown, Smyrna, Dover, Magnolia, Little Creek, Milford, Laurel, Millsboro,, Seaford, Milton, Greenwood, Dagsboro, Lewes, Rehoboth Beach, Dewey Beach, Bethany Beach, Fenwick Island & Ocean View, DE.