Delaware Careless Driving Laws are the same as Inattentive Driving Laws. Each involves operating a vehicle in a careless manner with no regard for traffic, weather or road conditions. If convicted of careless driving in Delaware you may be subject to fines, suspension of driving privileges, increased car insurance costs and possible jail time.
Facing careless driving charges in Delaware warrants the aid of a skilled Dover Delaware Traffic Violation Defense Lawyer.
Penalties If Convicted Of Careless Driving In Delaware
A careless driving conviction, for a first offense, can include fines not less than $25 nor more than $75. For each subsequent like offense occurring within 3 years of a prior offense, the person shall be fined not less than $50 nor more than $95.
If your careless driving caused an accident or physical injury the consequences are much more severe. You will be made to:
Complete a traffic safety course approved by the Delaware Division of Motor Vehicles
Perform up to 100 hours of community service, which must include activities related to driver improvement and providing public education on traffic safety;
b. Impose, but suspend on the condition that the person complete any and all legal obligations
A fine of not more than $550; and
A suspension of driving privileges
Set a hearing date up to 1 year from the date of sentencing. At that hearing, the court shall:
The cop or arresting police officer who issued the citation for an offense under this section shall note on the citation if the cited offense contributed to the serious physical injury of a vulnerable user of the public right-of-way.
When facing any charges that can lead to a suspension or revocation of driving privileges you need a skilled and experienced Delaware Traffic Ticket Lawyer to protect your rights and drivers license.
Call Delaware Careless Driving Attorney John R. Garey